Gift During the Grind

As for most students the summer time presents itself as an opportunity to decompress. Shifting focus from college life to relaxation at home in the summer’s sun. Although this is a well-deserved exchange & personally I would jump on the opportunity if it was offered in my current occupation. Trust me, your boss doesn’t find it amusing when you offer the idea of an office summer break. Unfortunately taking the summer off isn’t in the cards, maybe someday (keeping fingers crossed). My only hope for such a break was to live vicariously through Alana, but her plans didn’t align with my imaginary actions. Between spring & fall semester is my Girls time to grind.

Ok, so let me take a moment & brag about my Fiancé. Recently Alana Rae took another big step in her future career as an attorney, starting a new job at a law firm outside the city of Columbus.  This is big for many reasons, outside of the surface of “just getting a job” & two words/thoughts resonated with me that I’d like to draw your attention to:

  1. The first word that comes to mind is “humility.” As with most interview processes they’re lengthy, uncertain, & can be quite painful. Subjecting yourself to this process by choice, whenever you could have taken the easy route is jaw dropping. The easy route of working for the family business; turning down comfort of familiarity, a higher income, & the luxuries of working with loved ones. Who wouldn’t relish in this opportunity? Alana never seizes to amaze me. She goes against the grain…. Demonstrating again she can do anything she puts her mind to, nailing the interview, & ultimately accepting the job.
  2. The second would be “sacrifice”. On top of working this summer, Alana decided to take a summer class. I did summer classes in college but law school is another level. Her ability to balance studying, working, research, driving time, family, friends, spin class, bible study & of course taking care of me, go un-phased. All the while taking time from tanning pool side, Netflix series, vacations at the beach, summer concerts & of course shopping. This is a true sacrifice & being a passenger on this crazy beautiful ride it’s impossible not to be proud.

Although I believe I’m Alana’s biggest fan, I know that Jesus trumps this a thousand multiplied by infinity. You know what? I don’t even hold a candle to the illuminated smile God has for her or any of us when we succeed. Let me put it into perspective… Jesus is that embarrassing parent at the ball game, painted face with team colors, an obnoxious number one finger, & of course a megaphone shouting at the top of His lungs, “THAT’S MY KID”! God is cheering for you during your grind & bragging to the Angels in Heaven about His creation. I promise Jesus will see you through the process if you put Him first. Remember, “Seek first the kingdom of God & His righteousness, & all these things will be added to you”.

I say all of that to close with this & honestly it wasn’t to brag about Alana (well, maybe a little) but more so to brag about Jesus. In all seriousness, my hope is to bring glory to the throne. Alana Rae continues to WOW me every day, not only because of her accomplishments, but her thirst for Christ. I have faith that by the grace of God Alana will continue to have success during all of life’s expeditions, because she understands that Jesus makes things happen. So… my message is to continue grinding at your job, your education, your relationships… because success is inevitable if you continue to work hard. Even better though, if you put God first during your grind it’s limitless on what will be presented as a gift while you strive toward your goals.

Lastly I know this all too well.. As I sprinted toward my own goals, God close-lined me harder than Stone Cold Steve Austin on Monday Night Raw when Alana Rae walked into my life. At the moment my focus shifted from my goals to God’s gift (Alana). The start of everything. God confirming again He’s got gifts bigger than your goals! Making loving you eAZy.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to read our blog. May all your names be found in the Book of Life. God Bless – Z

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

IMG_6635IMG_6636

Leave a comment