What is love?

What is Love?  More specifically, what is love within the context of “two people”? We all experience some type of love whether it be from family or close friendships but a true mutual connection between two people is rare. I’d suggest this experience is limited because of a small screen most live inside rather than existing in the world around them.

The first thing we do in the morning is roll over to our phone, open a few apps to check current events, creep on past lovers, or count the number of likes from a previous post. Whatever it is, we are all a victim of this cycle. Our social media feed reminds us how perfect life can be as each flawless picture illuminates setting our expectations to a hopeless standard that unfortunately isn’t reality. I know this all too well… as I sit on the couch, pizza in one hand & my iPhone in another. Scrolling through Instagram for no reason at all only to be alerted by a ripped dude with abs & think “wow, only if I looked like that”.  Foolishly comparing myself, I wipe the pizza grease from my fingers & pull up the front of my shirt checking the current status underneath, only to be welcomed with a fat roll or two maybe three (who’s counting?).  I digress.

I say all of that to say this…

As I sat back the other day, after the noise of life settled I meditated on the same question introduced in the opening sentence, “What is Love”?  This four letter word is so simple yet confusing and in my eyes has been lost in translation. I’ve been guilty of this myself, using something I see as secrete to describe meaningless things/events but under used within the context of my relationship with Alana Rae.  I say underused because there’s no amount of chivalrous acts or limit to exceed when expressing, to your significant other that they’re loved. Which leads to the answer of my overarching question and that’s “To Always” here is my descriptions (no order) of what makes loving Alana eAZy:

To Always – To continue through no matter what, not when it’s convenient within your personal agenda. This is an eternal promise to pursue & should be everlasting.

*Protect – Not only on a physical level but also emotionally.

*Preserve – Keep the relationship alive. Continue to date, continue to laugh, & continue to keep your love lasting by building a solid foundation while growing together.

*Trust – The integrity to be dependable in all situations and have that same confidence in him/her.

*Hope – Wishful thinking is not hope. Have the assurance that all of your desires will be met and have the faith that your needs & wants will be seen through.

In closing, what makes loving Alana “eAZy” is simple teachings found in the Bible. I didn’t come up with any of this on my own but acted with intent to pursue a life full of love for Alana and I, as she does the same for me.

“Love brings color to life & what doesn’t matter fades to gray”

IMG_1833

-Zach

Leave a comment